لمحة عن بيرزيت

كانت مدرسة بيرزيت الابتدائية للبنات، والتي أسست في العام 1924، النواة الأولى لنشأةِ جامعة بيرزيت. فقد تطورت المدرسة إلى كليةٍ في العام 1942، وتابعت تطورها إلى أن أصبحت في العام 1976 الجامعة الأولى في فلسطين، وأول جامعةٍ فلسطينية تقدم برامج الماجستير في عام 1994. وتُعدّ جامعة بيرزيت الأولى عربياً في تخصيص برنامجٍ لدراسات المرأة.

تعتبر جامعة بيرزيت، الوجهة الأولى للطلبة المتفوقين والباحثين عن الريادة في أعمالهم بعد التخرج؛ حيث بلغت نسبة الطلبة المقبلين على الجامعة في العام 2012، والحاصلين على معدلاتٍ 85% وما فوق في امتحان الثانوية العامة، 76% من إجمالي عدد الطلبة الجدد.

تقدم جامعة بيرزيت 47 برنامجاً أكاديمياً لمرحلةِ البكالوريوس، و23 برنامجاً أكاديمياً لدراسة الماجستير، من خلال ثماني كليات رئيسية.

وتضم الجامعة اليوم احد عشر معهداً ومركزاً للدراسات والبحوث، تعمل على الاستجابة لاحتياجات المجتمع الفلسطيني في الاقتصاد والاجتماعيات والتنمية البشرية. كما ويضم حرم جامعة بيرزيت، مكتبةً رئيسية، وخمس مكتباتٍ متخصصة، ومتحف، وحديقة نباتية، ومركز حاسوب، ومعهد موسيقى، وملاعب رياضية داخلية وخارجية.

لِجامعةِ بيرزيت دورٌ هامٌ ورئيسي في تطوير المجتمع؛ فهي ذاتُ جوٍ ليبرالي حر، وتاريخٍ سياسي بارز. إضافة إلى تشجيعها، ودعمها لقيم الديمقراطية، وحرية الفكر والتعبير، والتعددية الفكرية. فمهمتنا في جامعة بيرزيت تتمثل في خلق الأمل للشباب، للعيش في بيئةٍ مجتمعية بعيدةٍ عن الإنكار والقمع، ونختص في تطوير فكر طلبتنا من خلال تقديم التعليم القوي والممتع في نفس الوقت. ونركز على بناء وتطوير الشخصية، والأخلاق والقيم، واكتساب قيم العمل الحسنة، وغرس المهارات الإبداعية.

الالتزام بالتميز

تحرص جامعة بيرزيت على جذب أفضل الأساتذة والأكاديميين من أنحاء العالم، للتدريس في الجامعةِ لمدة فصلٍ دراسي، أو سنةً دراسيةً كاملة، وذلك حتى يغنوا ويضيفوا إلى تجربة التعليم في الجامعة. كما يجتهد أعضاء الهيئة التدريسية لجامعة بيرزيت، في عمل الأبحاث ونشرها في الداخل والخارج، والمشاركة في المؤتمرات الدولية وبرامج التبادل بين الدول.

تاريخ سياسي مشرف

يمتازُ تاريخ جامعة بيرزيت بالنشاطِ السياسي، وحرص الجامعةِ مع حركتها الطلابية على السعي للتحرر الوطني، وتعزيز حقوق الإنسان، وحق الفلسطينيين بالأخص في حياةٍ كريمةٍ وحرّة. وقد استطاعت الجامعة عبر سنينٍ خلت، الوقوف أمام التحديات والمعيقات التي أوجدها الاحتلال لتقييد حرية التعليم؛ فمنذ السبعينيات وأساتذة وموظفي وطلبة جامعة بيرزيت يتعرضون لمضايقات الاحتلال، من توقيفٍ واعتقالٍ وتحقيق، حتى على مستوى تحركات الطلبة السلمية، فقد كان يقابلها الاحتلال بالقمع والاعتقال والضرب، وبقنابل الغاز والرصاص الحي والمطاطي، وبالإغلاق، حيث أن الاحتلال أجبر الجامعة على إغلاق أبوابها خمسين مرةً في الفترة بين عامي 1973-1988.

للاطلاع أكثر على تقييد حرية التعليم في فلسطين؛ الرجاء متابعة حملة الحق في التعليم.

المسؤولية تجاه التنمية

تهيئ جامعة بيرزيت طلبتها ليكونوا صنّاع وقادة التغيير في المجتمع. فتحرص على تنمية مهاراتهم في التفكير والتحليل، وتوفر لهم فرص التدريب اللازمة للحصول على أخلاقيات العمل التي تؤهلهم لدخول عالم الأعمال بعد التخرّج.

كما تدعم جامعة بيرزيت القطاع العام والخاص ومؤسسات المجتمع المدني بالتدريب والتطوير والبحث. حيث يقوم أعضاء الهيئة التدريسية والباحثين في جامعة بيرزيت، بعمل الأبحاث والدراسات اللازمة لاحتياجات المجتمع الفلسطيني. ويركزون في عملهم على قضايا هامةٍ: كالهوية الوطنية والحركات الاجتماعية، والتعامل النفسي، والتاريخ والتراث الفلسطيني، وتآكل التربة، والمياه والتلوث البيئي، والزراعة، والتخطيط المدني، والتاريخ الاجتماعي.

حضور عالمي

ترتبط جامعة بيرزيت- من خلال هيئتها التدريسية ومعاهدها ومراكزها- بعلاقاتٌ وطيدةٌ مع أساتذةٍ وأكاديميين عالميين، حيث تشارك في أبحاثٍ مشتركةٍ، وفي برامج التبادل وفرص التدريب. كما تستضيف الجامعة الأساتذة ورجال الأعمال الفلسطينيين، والقادة من مختلف دول العالم لإلقاء المحاضرات، واقتراح صفوفٍ تعليميةٍ جديدة من شأنها أغناء مناهج التدريس في الجامعة.

وتحافظ جامعة بيرزيت على شراكاتها مع جامعاتٍ أخرى، لطرح برامج أكاديميةٍ مشتركة. وتحافظ على قنوات التواصل مع جامعاتٍ أوروبية من خلال برنامج التعاون الأكاديمي الفلسطيني الأوروبي وبرنامج "Tempus"، كما تستقبل جامعة بيرزيت طلبةً من حول العالم في برنامج الدراسات الفلسطينية والعربية "باس" "PAS".

Birzeit at a Glance

Since its establishment as a primary girls’ school in 1924, Birzeit University has earned a reputation for pioneering and innovation. Birzeit is the first university to be established in Palestine in 1976; it is also the first Palestinian university to initiate graduate studies (1994) and the first university in the Arab world to establish an institute specializing in Women’s Studies. 

Birzeit is considered to be the most prestigious Palestinian university, with the highest admission average amongst Palestinian universities overall. In 2012-3, 67% of admitted students scored 85 or higher in the general baccalaureate exam. Birzeit attracts the best Palestinian students, many of whom assume leadership responsibilities in the corporate, non-governmental and public sectors after their graduation.

The University offers 47 academic programs for undergraduates and 23 graduate studies programs across eight faculties. Affiliated to Birzeit are eleven institutes and centers that contribute to the economic, social and human development of Palestine. The University campus is home to a general purpose library and five specialized libraries, a museum, a botanical garden, a computer center, a music conservatory, as well as an outdoor sports area. 

Birzeit plays a central role in developing the country’s most valuable resource: the Palestinian people. The University is unique in its liberal atmosphere and history of political activism. The university fosters democratic values and is firmly committed to freedom of thought and expression, intellectual pluralism, and democratic practices. 

Our mission is to shape young lives and create hope in a social environment of denial and repression. We are dedicated to developing our students’ intellect by providing a multi-faceted education that is rigorous and engaging. We emphasize the development of character, the building of moral and ethical frameworks, the acquisition of a strong work ethic and the cultivation of aesthetic sensibilities and creative skills.

Commitment to Excellence

Birzeit attracts the best scholars in Palestine and distinguished academics from overseas, who typically teach at Birzeit for a semester or academic year, thereby enriching the educational experience made available to our students. Our faculty publishes research locally and internationally, while participating in international conferences, and engaging in academic exchange activities with other countries. Search our publications database to learn more about research and policy analysis by Birzeit faculty and staff.

A History of Activism

Birzeit has a long history of activism, with a dedicated student movement aimed at securing national liberation and promoting human rights in Palestine. Over the years, the University has remained a stalwart Palestinian institution against all odds, including severe restrictions on academic freedom imposed by the occupation. Since the 1970s, faculty, staff, and students have been harassed, arrested, and detained. Peaceful student protests have been met with arrests, beatings, tear gas, rubber bullets, live ammunition, and closures by occupation forces. Between 1973 and 1988, the occupation forces forced the university to close fifteen times. On a daily basis, checkpoints, closures and arbitrary arrest restrict the freedom of students and faculty. The Right to Education Campaign provides additional information on restrictions to education in Palestine.

A Responsibility to Foster Development

Birzeit prepares students to make a difference in their communities by developing their critical and analytical thinking skills and professional ethics, and by providing practical training opportunities to prepare them to enter the workforce after graduation. The university supports the public and private sectors and civil society agents in Palestine through training, product development, research, advocacy and policy formulation. Through its support, Birzeit strengthens business productivity, entrepreneurship, job creation, and the knowledge and skills of the Palestinian workforce. 

Faculty and staff researchers develop applied research, analysis, and programming on issues relevant to the needs of Palestinians. They focus on a range of issues including: national identity, social movements, psychological coping, Palestinian history and heritage, land degradation, water and environmental pollution, agriculture, urban planning and social history. Our surveys and policy papers start and inform critical discussions in Palestine and abroad.

A Global Presence

Birzeit’s faculty, institutes, and centers cultivate relationships with scholars and academic institutions worldwide. We collaborate on joint research and participate in faculty exchanges and training opportunities. Departments can host professors from abroad as well as Palestinian business and other leaders to teach classes or offer new courses that would enhance the curriculum. We partner with other universities in offering joint degree programs. Birzeit maintains links with several European universities through the Palestinian-European Academic Cooperation in Education (PEACE) Program and the Tempus Program. Students from abroad come to study at Birzeit in the Palestine and Arabic Studies (PAS) Program.